High risk countries

The United States Coast Guard (USCG) has defined several countries that do not apply to the ISPS-Code. These countries with heigthened risk are:

  • Cambodja
  • Cameroon
  • Comoros
  • Ivory Coast
  • Cuba
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Gambia
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Iran
  • Liberia
  • Libia
  • Madagascar
  • Nigeria
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Syria
  • East-Timor
  • Venezuela
  • Yemen

More information on these countries (in Dutch) can be found on https://www.nederlandwereldwijd.nl/reizen/reisadviezen

Ships that have visited one of the above countries in their last five ports must take the following actions:

  1. Implementation of the measures proclaimed in the Ship Security Plan for security level 2;
  2. Ensure that every access point to the ship is guarded; the guards should also have a total overview of the outside of the ship;
  3. Ensure the completion of a Declaration of Security, where the security measures that need to be taken by the Ship and/or the Port Facility are determined. Note that security measures requested by the ship from the Port Facility are for the risk and account of the ship under these circumstances, since they are not legally required from the Port Facility;
  4. Write down all security actions in the ships security log;
  5. Report the security measures taken to the (planned) port of arrival according to the legally binding notification procedure.

Furthermore, ships flying flags of convenience – a business practice whereby a ship’s owners register a merchant ship in a ship register of a country other than that of the ship’s owners- also may pose an added risk. Some of these countries are known to not strictly follow or even bypass international laws. Countries that are mentioned on both lists, are printed in bold.

Countries considered to be flags of convenience are:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Bolivia (Plurinational State of)
  • Cambodia
  • Cayman Islands (UK, not ISPS)
  • Comoros
  • Curacao (not ISPS)
  • Cyprus
  • Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (North Korea)
  • Faroes (Denmark, not ISPS)
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • France (incl. French Guiana, French Polynesia, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, New Caledonia, Reunion, Saint Barthelemy, St. Pierre and Miquelon and Wallis and Futuna)
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar (UK, not ISPS))
  • Honduras
  • Jamaica
  • Lebanon
  • Liberia
  • Madeira (Portugal)
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mongolia
  • Myanmar
  • Panama
  • Republic of Moldova
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tonga
  • Vanuatu